Summer Odyssey

Soon I will be heading home again. I am done with one year of college. It hasn’t really sunk in yet. I’m sitting on a folding chair in the wreckage of the cubicle I’ve lived in for more than nine months now. The dishwasher is humming, pregnant with the last load of dishes I’ll ever do in this house.

Most people know this already, but moving is hard. I’ve moved before, of course, but then my parents were in charge. Now, I am. Sort of. Sometimes they still pay for stuff, thank God.

I do not regret my decision to get college’d so far from home. I am receiving a unique and extremely valuable (and shockingly challenging) education that I wouldn’t trade for any things except an Aston Martin V8 Vantage in silver and a Ford Mustang GT in Grabber Blue. But the arduous process of moving twice a year, from cheeseland to potatodistrict and back again–it’s going to get old.

This summer is a watershed. If all goes well, I’ll be working an adult job and driving my own car. There will come a time, perhaps soon, when I will no longer be an adolescent, part of a family unit Against the World. I will be a Man Against the World.

And then, maybe, Man Against World will come to maturity. For those who haven’t been reading since the beginning, Man Against World  is designed to one day become an all-encompassing magazine/webzine for young Christian men.

From theology to women to music, I want to cover it all, because Christian men are called to be distinct from the world in everything, not just their “spirituality” and their Sunday morning schedule.

Everyone loves the underdog, so they say. You know who are the underdogs in the American story right now? Men who are trying to do the right thing by God and their families. And despite the odds being against us, we’re not getting any grassroots support from the people who watch those underdog sports movies. Or anyone, really, outside of God’s covenant. Everyone is fighting against us because we should be fighting them, and loving them at the same time. Whoah, paradox. We must hate that they hate God and love the parts of them that can be made lovely if they accept the love we offer them from the Lover.

The number of socially, emotionally, and spiritually mature young Christian men in this age of man children is depressingly low. They need help. They need a standard. As the body of believers, we’re not a social club that meets to talk about feelings, we’re the viceregents of this sorry place, set in charge by the watchful King. Let’s act like it, and teach others take their place in the kingdom.

As a full-time college student, I don’t have the time or the cash that this blog deserves. But this summer, when time at least is not such a rare commodity, I pledge to work hard to take this blog to the next level–after I determine what that is.

This is going to be a summer of change, and of journeys. An odyssey. But, Lord willing, I’ll avoid amorous goddesses, blind prophets, and cyclopes. Maybe find Penelope a little sooner than Crafty Ulysses did.

If you think that Christian men need help, and that Man Against World might help them (us), then please do the most effective thing you can: pray for our success. More posts coming as the summer unfolds.

One thought on “Summer Odyssey

  1. “As the body of believers, we’re not a social club that meets to talk about feelings, we’re the viceregents of this sorry place, set in charge by the watchful King. Let’s act like it, and teach others take their place in the kingdom.”

    Amen! Tell it like it is!

Leave a Reply

